this post was submitted on 04 Oct 2025
124 points (94.9% liked)

RPGMemes

13856 readers
561 users here now

Humor, jokes, memes about TTRPGs

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] Jeeve65@ttrpg.network 37 points 7 hours ago* (last edited 7 hours ago) (1 children)

If you look up the definition for an Object, it specifies that it is "a nonliving, distinct thing" — such as a corpse.

However, the definition of Creature does not say it must be living. So, a corpse is both a creature and an object.

There are even creatures that have never been living — such as constructs — and thus are also objects.

[–] Archpawn@lemmy.world 4 points 4 hours ago

There's no rule that says dead creatures can't take action. You'll usually become Unconscious first, but instant death effects including massive damage bypass that. So you can just keep playing.

This was clearer in 3.5, where it actually had an entry for the Dead condition which did not say you couldn't take actions.